California Chrome to race February 25th as prep for Dubai World Cup

February 23rd 2016 (Updated February 25th)

California Chromethe 2014 Horse of the Year–has been in Dubai since January 22nd in preparation for the $10 million Dubai World Cup race on March 26th. This coming Thursday, February 25th, he will be put to test in a handicap race at Meydan as a prep for the richest horse race in the world. California Chrome finished 2nd in last year’s Dubai World Cup to Prince Bishop. The hope is that having more time to adapt and a prep race in Dubai will be the prescription for victory this time around.

Chrome has been working out at Meydan (see video above) and training well according to trainer Art Sherman. He will have his usual jockey, Victor Espinoza, but will have to race with 7.5 kilogram more (16 1/2 pounds) than any other horse in the field. The Post Time will be 9:55 PM Dubai time which is 11:55 AM CST (12:55 PM EST/9:55 AM PST).

Meydan Race 6 for Thursday, Feb. 25 – 2000 meters (about 1 1/4-mile)
Purse: $150,000

Horse (weight in kilograms) – Official Rating 
California Chrome (60) –  121
Think Ahead (52.5) – 105
Storm Belt (52.5) – 105
Hunting Ground (51.5) – 102
Good Contact (50.5) – 101
El Tren (50.5) – 100
Success Story (50.5) – 100
Jeeeraan (50) – 99
Plantagenet (49.5)  – 98
Pit Stop (48) – 95

Overall, I feel that this will be another California Chrome victory despite the weight disadvantage. Just don’t expect any track records being broken like Frosted accomplished at Meydan roughly 3 weeks ago in a 1900 meter race. I think a time in the 2:04 second range would be a decent time. Prince Bishop won the Dubai World Cup last year with a time of 2:03.24 at the same 2000 meter distance beating California Chrome by 2 3/4 lengths (roughly 0.44 seconds)

–Michael

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s